What are you listening to?

Bikes or not. Whatever
dave.pitt

What are you listening to?

Post by dave.pitt »

OK, as I've asked the question, I'll kick off with my tastes. A bit varied actually. When I was 11 I started learning tenor sax so this gave me an in interest in jazz. By 12 I was dabbling in guitar and became Jimi Hendrix number 1 fan (he was still alive then). :lol: Taking GCE music put me in touch with the classics. All of these have created meandering streams to the present day, so currently my fave rock bands are Red Hot Chilli's, Genesis, Pink Floyd, etc. On the jazz front I like Coleman Hawkins, Sonny Rollins, Lester Young (all tenor players), and on the classical I like symphonic stuff from 1795 (Beethoven's Eroica, a cornerstone if ever there was one) up to 1930 (Elgar). I like all composers in this timespan, regardless of nationality, with a particular emphasis on Gustav Mahler. I also love traditional flamenco, and it's commercial rhythm spin-offs like the Gypsy Kings and Rodrigo y Gabriela. If you haven't heard their 'Stairway to Heaven' you need to listen pronto. (You Tube).

Strange that my first posting is about music and not Ariels...!
Dave Pitt
Steven.Carter
Holder of a Platinum Anorak
Holder of a Platinum Anorak

Re: What are you listening to?

Post by Steven.Carter »

dave.pitt wrote: Strange that my first posting is about music and not Ariels...!
But aren't Ariels music to our ears? :D

Pink Floyd does it for me too, I'm enjoying that Gwyneth Paltro country song at the moment.

Steve
john.nash
Holder of a Golden Anorak
Holder of a Golden Anorak

Post by john.nash »

Old people eh ?

I tried an IPOD on the bike, but I had to ramp the volume up so high that:
  1. I couldn't hear anything at all - such as approaching runaway lorries etc etc
  2. I couldn't hear the bike and I was worried in case something was going to explode
Gone back to the bike's own soundtrack.
John Nash
AOMCC No.4119