Paint or Plastic Coat

Anything about Ariels
Glyn.Ford

Paint or Plastic Coat

Post by Glyn.Ford »

Hi all.

My first posting. I have a 1956 Ariel Huntmaster FH. I am in the process of removing parts from the frame in preperation for painting. The frame appears to be a purple "grape" enamel coating, which has been over painted black. What is the preferred process, and what is the best coating, paint or Plastic coating? Is there and official colour code to match the original purple enamel?

I hope to get the frame and swing arm sandblasted, any suspect welding repaired, and galvanised prior to finish coat. Can anyone recommend a company which can do this to a high standard, in the Manchester area, and any advice on preparation?

Many thanks.

Glyn Ford
adrie.degraaff
Holder of a Golden Anorak

Re: Paint or Plastic Coat

Post by adrie.degraaff »

Hi Glyn,
I see that you don't have a answer yet, I don't think paint will hold on galvanisation.
You could use powdercoat on a 1956 becouse there is no clamping to the frame, (clamp won't fit anymore).
The other parts are already asked and answered on this site.
robin.parker
Holder of a Nylon Anorak
Holder of a Nylon Anorak

Post by robin.parker »

Hello Glyn, I'm jealous of your Huntmaster, I had one back in the 1970's, loved it and do wish I still had it, it was Deep Claret from new but I believe someone has "restored" it and painted the poor old thing Black and Red, and that it lives only about 8 miles away from me.
You will read and hear differing views on paint/powder coating, there is no right or wrong, other than it's hard to "touch-up" powder coat. As regards Galvanising, IMHO that is a lot of unneccesary trouble to go to and horrible if any welding or brazing is needed at a later date.
Good luck,
Robin.
Glyn.Ford

Post by Glyn.Ford »

Thank you Robin, Adrie. Another consideration is to maybe get it re enamelled, as original method?