200 colt

bsmart

200 colt

Post by bsmart »

hello forum , not sure were to start but here goes . my dad had a bsa bantam 185 in bits under his garage bench, as a child i would sit and polish the tank thinking that one day he would let me put the bike back together but he sadly sold it , i do know that 30 years later its still on the road so thats something . however i have always like tinkering with cars and bikes , restroring a mini pick up and capri and also building a couple of bikes from next to nothing but thats for another forum. but the other day i was offered the bike below for a very small sum so i bought it . i have no knowledge of Ariels other than internet browsing but my dad still has all his classic bike mags so i guess a read through these may help . i have a couple of other projects on the go at present so this one will be a while before i get to it but just looking to gane knowledge for the future rebuild , cheers
Attachments
IMG_11581.jpg
IMG_11581.jpg (100.64 KiB) Viewed 4742 times
simon.holyfield
Holder of a Platinum Anorak

Re: 200 colt

Post by simon.holyfield »

Well, you've come to the right place. You'll find all the help you'll ever need on this forum!

First stop for parts, Draganfly motorcycles in Bungay, Suffolk. Look at http://draganfly.co.uk. They do a great parts list which you should look at straight away!

And search the forum - there is a photographic rebuild sequence on a Colt somewhere.
cheers

Simes

'51 Square Four,
'58 Huntmaster,
'42 W/NG,
'30 Model A
https://ariel-square-four.blogspot.com
bsmart

Post by bsmart »

thanks for the info Simon , very handy indeed. i have got some plans for it and somefreinds of anther forum have already helped with manuals and info about what other machine the engine was used in , but i found very few parts for sale for this one , think probably have to go to auto jumbles ect for parts but theres very few of them up this way , so maybe a struggle .
Vincent.vanGinneke