Lucas m01 timing help

General electrical problems
steven.warren

Lucas m01 timing help

Post by steven.warren »

Hi,i'm looking for help timing the ignition on a 1954 vb with iron head. I have no previous knowledge of magdyno's as i have only owned 70's east european and spanish bikes. Does anyone know of magazine aticles or websites with pictures that would help a dummy like me time the ignition of a lucas m01...any help will gratefully recieved...steve... :roll:
brenton.roy
Holder of a Golden Anorak

Post by brenton.roy »

Hi Steve, hopefully, you'll find it simpler than you expect.
You need;
1. The correct tool to remove the sprocket in the timing cover (looks like a 20mm socket with a bolt into it) . The sprocket sits on a taper. You remove the nut that holds the sprocket on the shaft, fit (screw) the tool over the (larger) thread on the sprocket itself and then tighten the bolt. This will crack the taper. The sprocket will then just fall off. Don't be tempted to try to lever the sprocket off. You will crack the inner timing cover. Honest.
2. a cigarette paper / multimeter / good eyes to check for the points just opening
3. a lead pencil down the plug hole or TDC tool ( looks like a drilled out spark plug with a moveable pin) or with a VB, just take the head off and measure! (watch valves, remember - induction / compression / ignition / exhaust)

The science is; after you set the advance to full on the handlebar, the points should just open (spark) at 5/16" before top dead centre.
You achieve this by;
1. removing the magneto sprocket.
2. moving the motor to TDC. Mark the tool, then measure 5/16" with a ruler and mark the tool again. Then, move the motor to the 5/16" BTDC point (in gear, rotate the back wheel). Go too far back, then rotate the wheel forward to get rid of backlash.
3. rotating the tapered arm of the magneto (inside timing cover) by hand until the points are just opening
4. then fitting the sprocket back on the taper.