Rust fuel Tank

Singles, twins and fours.
Martin.Williams

Rust fuel Tank

Post by Martin.Williams »

Hi, I'm new to restoration, has anybody got any ideas on how to clean the inside of a rusty fuel tank? the outside is in very good condition, there is also a very sticky grease type substance in the petrol on/off tap which I'm guessing is in the tank to.
robjameson
Holder of a Silver Anorak
Holder of a Silver Anorak

Post by robjameson »

You can buy quite a few products to clean a tank then seal it (slosh, por15) I believe these help to clean the tank, or the old school method is to drop some nuts and bolts in the tank with some paraffin and shake it about.
Rob Jameson
AOMCC Member Number 4068
1957 Ariel VH
1954 Ariel KH
1948 Ariel 4G with 1920's Ariel Sidecar/Triumph Chassis
AOMCC Twin Spares Organiser
adrie.degraaff
Holder of a Golden Anorak
Holder of a Golden Anorak

Re: Rust fuel Tank

Post by adrie.degraaff »

Spraythinner or cleaningthinner will solve the sticky stuff.
Geoffbrown

Post by Geoffbrown »

Oh yes; I have found reverse electrolysis is the key to cleaning rusty tanks. You need a 12v DC supply (battery charger works fine) fill the tank to the top with water mixed with soda crystals. Then one line on the body of the tank and the other onto an anode (any old bit of steel will do) carefully placed in the solution without touching the sides, make it as long as you practically can (cannot recall which way around but it is obvious as within a few hours rust starts to accumulate on the anode if you have it wrong the anode will be deposited into the tank and no rust will gather). leave it for a week cleaning the rust off the anode daily and when no more rust gathers on the anode the inside of the tank will be really chemically clean - even shiny.....
Richard Kal
Holder of a Nylon Anorak
Holder of a Nylon Anorak

Post by Richard Kal »

Take it to your local chrome plater, and he will be able to put it in his bath and de-rust it magnificently.