Ariel Arrow mains and seals

garryeyles

Ariel Arrow mains and seals

Post by garryeyles »

Hi All,

I am a newbie from Australia. Just purchased an Arrow that will need new main bearings and crankshaft seals. Could someone please advise me of what brand and type of seals and crankshaft bearings I need. Also any tips on removing the crankshaft would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance

Garry from Oz :D
Roger James
Holder of a Silver Anorak

Post by Roger James »

Hello Garry,
Congratulations on becoming the owner of the Arrow.
Regarding your questions, its not going to be easy to answer in one email but here goes to set you on your way. Presuming you've not owned a Leader or Arrow before you might not be aware that Ariel published an excellent workshop manual for these machines, very, very detailed text with plenty of photographs, a must if you are going to totally strip the engine, originals pop up on ebay from time to time and they have been transferred onto disc that can be purchased, others here in the U.K. can supply reprints at cost and extra cost re the postage.
Regarding bearings for the crankshaft - these are 6205 bearings commonly used in a whole variety of engines and readily available, you should be able to get hold of them in Australia, that said and it doesnt specify them in the workshop manual but most owners fit 6205C3 bearings that have a little bit of extra clearance to avoid overcrowding but if you are only going to tootle around then 6205's will be o.k.to use.
Seals are all readily available here in the U.K. at least, you can buy a complete set for the engine off ebay which might be your best bet, item number 300875741482 supplied by Millhouse motorcycles info@millhousemotorcycles.co.uk.