Spares prices...

Anything about Ariels
Jay.Watson

Spares prices...

Post by Jay.Watson »

First off, this is a genuine question and not designed to start a fight or have a go...

I'm a newbie to Ariels and and a returnee to Brit' bikes after years of big Jap's and Harleys - I sold my Devimead modded '69 Thunderbolt for £500 so hopefully you'll see where I'm coming from on this.

When I posted pic's of my '55 VH500 in members' bikes I was advised that the head was the wrong one. This didn't particularly concern me at the time but I have since found all the rocker box threads to need renewing due to a previous mullering. Before sending the head for repair I thought I'd search around for another one. Lo and behold, one on eBay just up the road! The starting bid is set at £650.00 - I contacted the seller and asked if this was a mistake and was informed that it was correct. Is this a realistic price for a used head that requires a little work?
I have no intention of buying it as I have found a local company that can repair mine, I just wondered how out of touch with prices I am!
John.Newbury

Re: Spares prices...

Post by John.Newbury »

John Budgen has new heads for £625 (not sure if that's plus VAT), Draganfly sometimes have used ones, worth checking, The last used NH head I bought from them was £60 + VAT and postage and in excellent condition. I think given all that is wrong with the ebay head it is well over the top price wise and I have noted for a while it has been relisted many times - no takers!
adrie.degraaff
Holder of a Golden Anorak

Post by adrie.degraaff »

I would say 200 to 400 pounds depending what the condition is.

The above compare is not good, they all want "push in" heads for HT's, these are made new, 1955 is "push out" thus less wanted.

VHA has fine threads wich breakout easy, the buyer of the ebay VHA will pay you the same price as the 1955 up the road.
Keith.owen

Post by Keith.owen »