Ammeter not reading.

General electrical problems
Ian.Lindsay

Ammeter not reading.

Post by Ian.Lindsay »

Just got my first Ariel (1954 Huntmaster) and still checking stuff over on it before taking it out on the road. It arrived with a totally bricked battery as it hasn't been run for over a year and so I put a new one in it this weekend. However, the ammeter also seems to be dead. The needle doesn't shift from zero when I put the lights on. When I start the bike it still shows zero. I'm new to all this. How do I best test where the problem is? If it's just the ammeter that is knackered how do I get this out of the headlamp unit to test it? Presumably, looking at the bike, I need to take the headlight unit out of the housing and looks like just one screw in the top of it to release the ammeter through the top.
---
Ian

Triumph Street Triple 2016
Ariel FH Huntmaster 1954
will_curry
Holder of a Silver Anorak
Holder of a Silver Anorak

Re: Ammeter not reading.

Post by will_curry »

Some photos would be helpful.

In the standard layout the ammeter fits into the light switch panel which in turn
fits into the headlamp shell. There are three (I think) screws holding this panel
to the headlamp. Do disconnect the battery before trying to remove the
panel.

Ammeters were retained by bending tabs on the ammeter's bezel - rather tacky.
Better quality ammeters often have a U-shaped clip to retain them.
Ian.Lindsay

Post by Ian.Lindsay »

Here you go. The light switch sits underneath the speedo on the top of the headlamp housing. Doesn't have the panel like the newer Huntmasters.
WbsAjvf4CaM4FYiHRjZMcINX005rR4SBMiccmzVD (1).jpg
---
Ian

Ariel FH Huntmaster 1954
Simon.Gardiner
Holder of a Golden Anorak

Post by Simon.Gardiner »

Ian