Tele fork oil seals

Anything about Ariels
bevanclark
Holder of a Nylon Anorak
Holder of a Nylon Anorak

Tele fork oil seals

Post by bevanclark »

Hi folks, I bought replacement fork seals from Draganfly a while back and have just attempted to fit them. I expected to be able to do so by putting them in the freezer and warming the seal carrier, but I could not get them home. Following sone measuremrnt I can see why - the i.d. of the seal carrier shoulder is 45 mm. The new seal o.d. is 46.43 mm.

Is it really possible to press these in with almost a 1.5 mm press fit without wrecking them ? I'm no expert, but it seems a very large compression for such a small diameter seal.
I made a brief video clip:
https://youtube.com/shorts/OWPlpTsrh00?feature=share

I'm in N.Z., so if I wreck the seal, my bike is off the road for a long time.

Cheers, Bevan
nevhunter
Holder of a Platinum Anorak
Holder of a Platinum Anorak

Re: Tele fork oil seals

Post by nevhunter »

Can't see you making them fit without altering something. I've used double lipped seals (neoprene ) but It's a while back so I'm no use with specifics. I put a small oil drain screw in the bottom of each fork. Nev
Mick D
Holder of a Waxed Cotton Anorak
Holder of a Waxed Cotton Anorak

Post by Mick D »

Hi

I don't think there is any chance of the seals fitting with those dimensions. When I restored my FH I replaced both the seals and the holders, (both sourced from Draganfly), they were a good fit and no problems encountered.

Probably best to get in touch with Draganfly, they may have had a 'quality escape' or your holders may not be standard, either way I wouldn't attempt to fit the seals.

You could probably measure what you have and obtain generic lip seals to suit locally.

Regards Mick
Paul Gasson
Holder of a Nylon Anorak
Holder of a Nylon Anorak

Post by Paul Gasson »