Problem lapping head to barrel on a '54 VH500

Anything about Ariels
dennis.t
Holder of a Nylon Anorak
Holder of a Nylon Anorak

Problem lapping head to barrel on a '54 VH500

Post by dennis.t »

I am new to Ariel's so please bear with me.
I bought a re-conditioned alloy head from Drags for my '54 VH500 (at great expense) as my engine did not have one. I now find that the spigot on the cast barrel is much higher than the corresponding recess in the head leaving a gap of about 0.7mm between the mating faces. Will it be possible to use grinding paste to get the mating surfaces together? It seems a lot to grind by hand.
Some information about the head. The valves are the same diameter and the exhaust fitment appears to be the push-in type. I have no exhaust downtube yet to confirm the fitment.
I should welcome any advice.
Dennis
1955 VH500 alloy head
1956 NH350 restoration in progress
Simon.Gardiner
Holder of a Golden Anorak

Re: Problem lapping head to barrel on a '54 VH500

Post by Simon.Gardiner »

I'm not fully 'converted' yet - I think that's about 30 thou to get rid of.
It's a lot but I think I had 40 thou to deal with when I swapped cylinder barrels on my '56 a few years ago.
'Just' hard work (and finish up with fine on the inside 'spigot' and coarse on the outer surface).

I'm a bit uncomfortable about the push-in pipe with the same-size valves, I thought that by the time the pipes became push-in the exhaust valves were smaller. Maybe the head's been reconditioned with the earlier (bigger) exhaust valve. Probably not an issue as long as you remember that it needs the earlier size should you need to get a replacement!

SG
Web admin (webmaster@arielownersmcc.com)

'55 Huntmaster, '56 VH, ' 51 VH, '62 Arrow, '80 R100RT, '00 Sprint ST (now with a new Arrow project, and just now those 4-stroke Ariel parts can't even make one running bike...)
dennis.t
Holder of a Nylon Anorak
Holder of a Nylon Anorak

Post by dennis.t »

Simon,