Need a whole lot of info - 1939 500 RH

Singles, twins and fours.
AdrianBaker

Need a whole lot of info - 1939 500 RH

Post by AdrianBaker »

Hi all
I'm new to Ariel ownership, and this is my first post - so be kind! :-)

I've had British bikes for years but just picked up a very nice, completely un-original 1939 500cc Red Hunter in Trials trim. I have searched the forum for general info about the bike but can't find what I need. What I really need is to know all the basic servicing stuff - valve clearances, primary oil, gearbox oil, recommended plug etc. Basically, I need a workshop manual I guess.

I certainly don't want to start a "What Oil do I use" thread - plenty of experiance of those on a BSA A10 forum that I use - but any ideas where I can go to read up, download, buy - whatever - a general source of info on these bikes. If there is a particular book or manual to get?

Thanks in advance
Adrian
Ariel.jpg
Just bought my first Ariel. Bike fanatic and Classic Racer.
- BSA A10
- T20 Suzuki race bike
- T20 Road bike
- TZ350G race bike
- KTM 660 SMC
- 675 Triumph
Simon.Gardiner
Holder of a Golden Anorak

Re: Need a whole lot of info - 1939 500 RH

Post by Simon.Gardiner »

Adrian - welcome!

Check out these threads - any links are probably out of date but the info should be easily searched.....
http://forum.arielownersmcc.com/viewt ... aft#p78087
http://forum.arielownersmcc.com/viewt ... aft#p72771

(I've seen some of those 'which oil' threads on the A7/A10 forum, Nearly as bad as 'which tyres' threads!)

SG
Web admin (webmaster@arielownersmcc.com)

'55 Huntmaster, '56 VH, ' 51 VH, '62 Arrow, '80 R100RT, '00 Sprint ST (now with a new Arrow project, and just now those 4-stroke Ariel parts can't even make one running bike...)
AdrianBaker

Post by AdrianBaker »

That's really good helpful. Thanks a lot.
Just joined the club too, so can access some goodies through there I hope. :D
- BSA A10
- T20 Suzuki race bike
- T20 Road bike
- TZ350G race bike
- KTM 660 SMC