Gandini pistons

Singles, twins and fours.
stu.sharratt

Gandini pistons

Post by stu.sharratt »

Evening all.
My new piston arrived yesterday from Draganfly, it's a Gandini job, made in Italy.
I was expecting one of the JP ones, but the Gandini one looks fine.
Having read that the JP ones are relatively heavy with a heavy pin, does anyone have any experience of Gandini ?
robin.parker
Holder of a Nylon Anorak
Holder of a Nylon Anorak

Post by robin.parker »

Hi Stu,
I have no personal experience with Gandini pistons, but have heard that getting replacement rings for them can be a bit tricky, so be careful!
Before you fit your new piston I would be most grateful if you had time to weigh it (complete)---most digital kitchen scales are accurate enough.
Thanks, Robin.
robin.parker
Holder of a Nylon Anorak
Holder of a Nylon Anorak

Post by robin.parker »

And---Stu, I should have asked what cc your engine is?
Robin.
stu.sharratt

Re: Gandini pistons

Post by stu.sharratt »

Hi Robin
The piston in question is a std 81.8mm 7.5:1 comp ratio for my '50/'51 VH500, I'm about to have the cylinder relined & was looking to get some more specific info on clearances for the machine shop to work to. I'll weigh it & measure the hot expansion.

stu.sharratt

Re: Gandini pistons

Post by stu.sharratt »

Gandini piston details: VH500 1950/51, std piston 81.8mm, 7.5:1 comp.
Weight inc pin & clips = 485g.
Expansion @ 250deg = 0.012" / 0.29mm (bottom of skirt, 90deg to pin).

My old piston was Hepolite +0.040", but I stripped the engine down 20 yrs ago and lost it somewhere along the line!
The bore was heavily worn anyway, so going for re-line back to std. Anyone have any idea how the weight compares to Hepolite ? Is it lighter than the JP pistons that Drags have supplied ?
Attachments
Gandini piston 001.JPG
nevhunter
Holder of a Platinum Anorak

Post by nevhunter »