my sprint arrow

pictures (or stories) of hideous injuries sustained by your ariel
AdeH

my sprint arrow

Post by AdeH »

hi, first post from a 2 stroke lover from sunny derbyshire.
this is the sprint bike as i found her. i kept the engine and sold the rest to a bloke at fahron engineering, called ron. his plan was to rebuild it as a sprint bike. my plan is to rebuild the engine. unfortunately the gearbox looks like it's been attacked by metal moths. everything that could be drilled has been. there's no speedo drive in it or kickstart shaft, alternator rotor and stator etc. add the fact that the left main bearing housing was in 3 pieces and you can see what i'm up against. i've been building 2 strokes for many years, all japanese. i've never completely rebuilt a british 2 stroke - ever. i'll post a photo of the pistons and what the previous owner did to them. the crank has been padded out with aluminium on the inside of the cranks and plugged on the outside of them. hope that covers everything :D
cheers, a.

sprint bike:

why do this to brand new pistons?

drilled:

and drilled again:
Frank Godber

Re: my sprint arrow

Post by Frank Godber »

Hi, mite be worth posting this in the 2 Stroke section below may get a better feedback.

Frank , also from not so sunny Derbyshire at the mo.
john.bebb
Holder of a Nylon Anorak
Holder of a Nylon Anorak

Post by john.bebb »

intriguing hand machined lattice work on the RH piston... any ideas as to wtf the owner was trying to achieve???
Bob.Murphy
Holder of a Golden Anorak
Holder of a Golden Anorak

Post by Bob.Murphy »

I'm guessing that the old RH piston seized and the owner was trying to create oil-retaining grooves in the new one.

Those are large grooves for a two-stroke (not much oil about in there, you just need a film) !

Bob.
My avatar shows the late Len Rich in 1970 with the bike I now have - a 1958 Ariel VH
john.bebb
Holder of a Nylon Anorak
Holder of a Nylon Anorak

Post by john.bebb »