Lever Control Throttle or not?

Anything about Ariels
MGriffin
Holder of a Nylon Anorak
Holder of a Nylon Anorak

Lever Control Throttle or not?

Post by MGriffin »

Hi there,

Looking at whether i should stick to setting up the lever throttle on the 28’s carburettor or perhaps look to use the twist type throttle control.
I have no experience with using lever throttles let alone adding the use of hand gearchange at the same time.

In this day and age are there any issues using a lever throttle with modern traffic flows?

Any feedback appreciated.
Regards
Michael.

28 Model A
28 Model C
48 Red Hunter
ian williams

Re: Lever Control Throttle or not?

Post by ian williams »

hi michael ;
i have a 2 lever throttle and air control on my 1922 little flat tank carfield motorbike ,with a 2 speed hand change albion gearbox , also belt drive with a heel operated rear brake which is basically just a bit of leather against the belt rim .
if you have ever worked in a factory on a production line , then this is the way you ride it , with all hands arms legs and feet having something to do .

my throttle is a stiff set type so doesnt spring back to idle and also needs to work with the air valve lever for best running , so you twiddle about with them as you are going along and then push and pull the throttle back and forth to speed up or slow down , but once you are aquainted with their actions it is easy and pretty much a thumb and forefinger job then .
i think wider handlebars make things easier for some reason .

pulling off is ok but changing gear in coordination with the throttle lever is a race against time changing down to go uphill , and due to mine not going much above 20mph flat out i lose momentum rapidly myself .

saying all that thought the lever throttle and hand change is no problem for me , and it is the belt drive that causes the biggest problem due to fact they will slip when going uphill if you have too much power going into them .