For Sale Rare 1970s AOMCC Mug by Patrick Sargent

DavidJS

For Sale Rare 1970s AOMCC Mug by Patrick Sargent

Post by DavidJS »

Hi
I hope this is allowed but please delete if not.
I have just put a rare mug up for sale on eBay.
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/255644159324
This is rare not just because it is a vintage AOMCC mug but also because it was made by renowned English potter, Patrick Sargent, who died tragically young in 1998. I suspect (from its style, and the telephone number) that is dates from the early to mid 1970s when Patrick was still a teenager. It's certainly no later than late 1970s.
If anybody is interested please feel free to drop me a line. Also if anybody has any further information about the mug then that would be very useful as well.
Best wishes, David
SimonFletcher
Holder of a Nylon Anorak
Holder of a Nylon Anorak

Re: For Sale Rare 1970s AOMCC Mug by Patrick Sargent

Post by SimonFletcher »

I studied ceramics with Patrick at Farnham and this was made during his earlier student days, when he undertook a foundation course at Nene College, Northampton. That makes it probably around 1977/78 – we were at Farnham together from 79-81. Pat was already into Ariels when we met, and I'm sure there are long-standing members of the club who will remember him. I believe his first British bike was a Norton Big 4, but when he arrived at Farnham, he was riding a rather nice Huntmaster/Watsonian GP Sports combo, which he proceeded to wear out in short order, using it to haul all manner of stuff that it probably shouldn't have. I have an Ariel now, partly because of the connection – when he briefly returned to Northampton after graduating (1st class, with honours), he had a couple of bikes alternately on loan from Tony Cooper, and I got to ride them, sowing the seeds of my later interest - partly nostalgic. He was a larger than life character and I miss him a lot. He took his pottery persona very seriously and is very well regarded in studio pottery circles to th